CEDAR CATHOLIC JR. - SR. HIGH SCHOOL BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES Tuesday, October 22, 2024

The October 22, 2024 meeting was called to order by Dr. Dan Hoesing. The meeting opened with a prayer by Vickie Kauffold.

<u>MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE</u>: Dr. Dan Hoesing, Fr. Jim Keiter, Fr. Owen Korte, Chad Cattau, Melissa Bowers, Janet Heine, Pat Steffen, Jesse Hochstein, John Pinkelman, Mike Reifenrath, Daryl Kleinschmit, Beckie Polak, Wendy Stevens (7:30). Guest: Vickie Kauffold, Superintendent of Schools.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Tom Kuchta

GENERAL BUSINESS:

APPROVAL of August 22, 2024 MINUTES: Daryl Kleinschmit motioned to approve the minutes, seconded by Pat Steffen. Motion was carried with a unanimous vote.

APPROVAL of October 22, 2024 AGENDA: Daryl Kleinschmit motioned to approve the agenda, seconded by John Pinkelman. Motion was carried with a unanimous vote.

ADMINISTRATION REPORTS:

FINANCE REPORT: See attached finance report for more/additional information. **PRINCIPAL/AD REPORT:** See attached Principal's report for more/additional information. **PRESIDENT'S REPORT:** See attached President's report for more/additional information. **DEVELOPMENT REPORT:** See Development Office website.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

STRATEGIC PLAN REPORT: See attached report or go to the board website for more/additional information.

OLD BUSINESS:

BOARD REORGANIZATION: Superintendent, Vickie Kauffold from the Catholic School Office, presented guidance on the definition, structure, duties and powers of a limited jurisdiction board.

APPROVAL OF BOARD MEMBERS TERMS OF OFFICE:

Board Appointment	Term of Office	Renew	Renew
AS-Pat Steffen	One year term	2025	2028
SM-Beckie Polak	One year term	2025	2028
BR-1: Janet Heine	One year term	2025	2028
HT-Missy Bowers	Two year term	2026	2029
AS-Wendy Stevens	Two year term	2026	2029
HF-Mike Reifenrath	Two year term	2026	2029
BR-2: John Pinkelman	Two year term	2026	2029
HF-Tom Kuchta	Three year term	2027	2030
HT-Daryl Kleinschmit	Three year term	2027	2030
BR-3: Jesse Hochstein	Three year term	2027	2030

Beckie Polak motioned to approve the above board member terms of office, seconded by Mike Reifenrath. Motion was carried with a unanimous vote.

Beckie Polak motioned to approve the above slate of officers for the 2024-2025 school year, seconded by John Pinkelman. Motion was carried with a unanimous vote.

NEW BUSINESS:

APPROVAL of Board Committee assignments for 2024-2025 school year. Jesse Hochstein motioned to approve, seconded by Becky Polak. Motion was carried with a unanimous vote. Executive Committee:

Chair-Pat Steffen;Vice-Chair Daryl Kleinschmit;Secretary-Mike Reifenrath;Treasurer-Wendy Stevens;President (ex-officio) Dr. Dan Hoesing

Governance Committee:

Chair-Pat Steffen; President-Dr. Dan Hoesing Member-Missy Bowers; Member-Tom Kuchta

Finance Committee:

Treasurer-Wendy Stevens; President-Dr. Dan Hoesing Pastor-Fr. Keiter; Pastor-Fr. Korte; Member-Beckie Polak

Development Committee:

Development Office: Dr. Dan Hoesing, Joani Potts, Blue Ribbon Executive Committee Principals from East/West Catholic, Holy Trinity and Cedar Catholic Blue Ribbon Committee: Jesse Hochstein (HT), John Pinkelman (AS), Janet Heine (HF) Endowment Board:

APPROVAL of Strategic Planning Committee assignments for 2024-2025 school year. Wendy Stevens motioned to approve, seconded by Becky Polak. Motion was carried with a unanimous vote.

		Teacher/Admin		
Strategic Planning Programs	Board Member: Co-Chair	Co-Chair	Assistant	Assistant
	Rev. Owen Korte, Rev. James Keiter,			
Religious Education Programs	Rev. Kevin Vogel, Rev. Marcus Knecht	Lori Christensen	Renae Mainquist	Nicholas Paltz
Core Education Programs	Wendy Stevens/Beckie Polak	Shanna Dendinger	Shelley Larson	Erin Pfeifer
				Grace
Elective Education Programs	Beckie Polak/Wendy Stevens	JoAnne Hamilton	Virgel Nelson	Pinkelman
			Miranda	
Activity Programs	Pat Steffen/Daryl Kleinschmit	Chad Cattau	Bernecker	Blair Kalin
Technology Programs	Mike Reifenrath/Tom Kuchta	Audrey Freeman	Rob Morten	James Kaiser
Career Ed/Guidance Programs	Tom Kuchta/Mike Reifenrath	Robert Bengston	Shelley Larson	Ray Weier
Communications and Public			Brelynn	Audrey
Relations	Melissa Bowers/Janet Heine	Miranda Bernecker	Wurdinger	Freeman
				Heather
Support Programs	Janet Heine/ Melissa Bowers	Renae Mainquist	Theresa Hoffart	Showen
Board/Administration/Budget				
and Finance	Daryl Kleinschmit/Pat Steffen	Dan Hoesing	Cassie Gubbels	Russ Gade
Transportation/Bldgs/Grounds	John Pinkelman/ Jesse Hochstein	Dan Hoesing	Sheila Jueden	Blair Kalin
Development Office	Jesse Hochstein, Janet Heine,			
Budget/Finance	John Pinkelman	Joani Potts	Dan Hoesing	Kristi Loecker

Approval of use of local substitute teachers for 2024-2025 school year. Janet Heine motioned to approve, seconded by Missy Bowers. Motion was carried with a unanimous vote.

CORRESPONDENCE: None

ADJOURNMENT: Next board meeting is scheduled for January 7, 2025 at 5:30 p.m. at Msgr. Werner Learning Center. John Pinkelman made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Wendy Stevens. Motion was carried with a unanimous vote.

The closing prayer was led by ??

• Respectfully Submitted by Mike Reifenrath, Secretary